31 writers make longlist for CBC Nonfiction Prize 2022

Thirty-one writers from across Canada have been shortlisted for the 2022 CBC Nonfiction Prize.

The full long list is:

  • Repairs by Victoria Abboud (Windsor, Ont.)
  • little ghosts by Filomena Acosta (Milton, Ont.)
  • First night at the border by Lisa Ariemma (Meana di Susa, Italy)
  • The memory library by Kate Bird (Vancouver)
  • Your house by Cayenne Bradley (Victoria)
  • Remember Chaika by Sharon Chisvin (Winnipeg)
  • Advice to a new beekeeper by Susan Cormier (Langley, BC)
  • Seh Woo, my teeth by Kerissa Dickie (Fort Nelson, BC)
  • The pajama party by Cherrie Fielder (Oshawa, Ont.)
  • The thin blue line by Patti Fraser (Vancouver)
  • Slowest growth by Carla Harris (Regina)
  • trendy cut by Julie Laurendeau (Winnipeg)
  • tek tek by YS Lee (Kingston, Ont.)
  • In the hours after by Anna Lee-Popham (Toronto)
  • Right justified by Rayya Liebich (Nelson, BC)
  • Anowaric/America by Christopher Malcolm (Toronto)
  • The haunted by Ann McDougall (Toronto)
  • Just wonderful by Karl Meade (Salt Spring Island, BC)
  • the spirits dance by Joyce Mearon (Grovedale, AB)
  • Twenty-four hours by Noreen Newton (Victoria)
  • body of poetry by Nofel (Montreal)
  • Storkatorium by Jane Ozkowski (Bloomfield, Ont.)
  • The dances we do with our children by Trent Pomeroy (Rothesay, NB)
  • next to evil by Murray Reiss (Salt Spring Island, BC)
  • The job of a cowboy by Aaron Tucker (Toronto)
  • Letters to Dave by Debby Vollbrecht (Sidney, BC)
  • bear jam by Meg Warren (Jasper, AB)
  • In defense of the mountain pine beetle by Meg Warren (Jasper, AB)
  • ice drift by Simone Witton (Ottawa)
  • Labor Camp Wildflower by Zeng Xiaowen (Toronto)
  • Running Rabbit Running by Deb Young (Winnipeg)
  • Moribund by Michelle Li Zeng (Oakville, Ont.)

The longlist was selected from over 1,700 English-language submissions.

A team of editors and writers from across Canada compiled the list.

The judging panel selects the shortlist and eventual winner from readers’ shortlisted selections. The 2022 jury is made up of Marcello Di Cintio, Sharon Butala and Jenna Butler.

The shortlist will be announced on September 15 and the winner will be announced on September 22.

The winner of the 2022 edition CBC Nonfiction Award will receive $6,000 from Canada Council for the Artshave their work published on Radio-Canada Books and will participate in a two-week writing residency at Banff Arts and Creativity Center.

Four finalists will each receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts and publish their work on Radio-Canada Books.

Last year’s winner was Montreal writer Chanel M. Sutherland for her story, Umbrella. You can read the full list here.

The long list of the French-speaking competition has also been unveiled. To find out more, go to the Radio-Canada Story Prize.

The RSC Literary Awards have honored Canadian writers since 1979. Past winners include David Bergen, Michel Ondaatje, Carol Shields and Michael Winter.

If you are interested in other writing contests, check out the Radio-Canada Literary Awards.

The 2023 New CBC Award is open for submissions until October 31, 2022. The 2023 CBC Nonfiction Award will open in January and the 2023 Radio-Canada Poetry Prize will open in April.