LG Attends Inaugural Session of 1st Ladakh Screenwriters Fair

Leh, Sep 12: Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh, RK Mathur today attended virtually the inaugural session of the 1st Ladakh Screenwriters Fair 2022 organized by the Department of Information and Public Relations (DIPR), Leh, in collaboration with Film Companion, in Leh today. The aim of the five-day event is to provide training to filmmakers and screenwriters in Ladakh to enable them to improve their screenwriting and the nuances of cinema. The Executive Advisor, LAHDC Leh, Stanzin Chosphel was present at the inaugural session. Renowned film critic Anupama Chopra is one of the moderators of the sessions.

LG Mathur appreciated the efforts of DIPR Leh and Anupama Chopra to build the capacity of Ladakh filmmakers. Mathur said Ladakh has a lot to offer filmmakers as storytelling materials such as wildlife and human interest are available in the region. He further said that filmmakers in Ladakh know the nuances of cinema as many films and documentaries are shot in the region. He said filmmakers in Ladakh are lucky to be guided often compared to other parts of the country.

Earlier, Information Commissioner/Secretary Padma Angmo informed that local filmmakers had requested to organize a screenwriters’ workshop to build their capacity and strengthen the Ladakh film industry. She informed about the aspirations of local filmmakers to make pan-Indian films.

Film critic Anupama Chopra shared that the goal of the five-day workshop is to help improve and hone the skills of local filmmakers. She assured to support local filmmakers.

Earlier, Co-Director of Information, Imteeaz Ahmed Kacho, welcomed the guests, while Deputy Director, DIPR Leh, Dr. Tundup Namgail expressed his thanks.

Around 20 local filmmakers from Leh and Kargil are taking part in the five-day event which includes sessions by director Shakun Batra; director, screenwriter and producer Nikhil Advani; filmmaker Satyanshu Singh; screenwriter Ayesha Devitre; filmmaker Abhay Pannu; filmmaker Raj Nidimoru, cinematographer Avinash Arun; filmmaker Shaunak Sen; director, producer, screenwriter and editor Leena Yadav; producer Tanvi Gandhi; producer Guneet Monga; producer Arjun Mogre; filmmaker Shirley Abraham; filmmaker Amit Madheshiya, Harshil Karia and director Neeraj Ghaywan.