Wigan’s Jai Field voted Rugby League Writers’ Player of the Year

WIGAN full-back Jai Field has been voted Rugby League Writers and Broadcasters Association Player of the Year.

Field, who is on the three-man shortlist for the Betfred Super League’s Steve Prescott Man of Steel award, garnered 61% of association members’ votes to win the Raymond Fletcher Trophy – named in memory of the former Yorkshire Post correspondent and leading statistician.

The runner-up with 22% of the vote was Brodie Croft, who is also in the running to be crowned Man of Steel, while other votes were cast for Bevan French from Wigan and Tui Lolohea from Huddersfield.

Field missed most of the 2021 season through injury but made up for lost time this year, scoring 20 tries and providing 24 assists to help the Warriors take second place in the Super League.

He also had the fastest recorded speed of any player in the Super League, with a time of 36.1 km/h against Hull KR.

Field was also instrumental in Wigan’s Betfred Challenge Cup triumph at Tottenham in May.

RLWBA President Trevor Hunt said: “It is always difficult for our members to select players for this award, especially with so many top quality athletes as contenders.

“But Jai’s incredible battle back to fitness only adds to an incredible story of grit, resilience and courage which has seen him storm the Super League with an incredible display of not only speed but superb skills to give him an edge over his challengers.

“He is a very deserving recipient of the RLWBA Player of the Year award.”